HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3Par 7450 Disk Replacement Failure
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2021 11:50 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:29 am
Posts: 11
Hello,

I have a 3PAR 7450 with 6 cages (96 LFF 4TB). Recently one of them (ID 68 failed). The disk is vacated normally and I proceed to replacement.
The new disk (id 104) after a while was failed:
showpd -s 104
104 4:12:0? NL failed vacated,not_available_for_allocations,prolonged_missing,no_valid_ports unknown

I thought that this was a bad disk show I proceeded with a replacement. The new disk 105 was also failed after 6h:
showpd -s 105
Id CagePos Type -State- ----------Detailed_State----------- -SedState-
105 4:12:0 NL failed vacated,prolonged_missing,servicing unknown
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

In servicemag status -d commad had some errors like:
relocating chunklets to spare space…
… chunklet 68:2139 – move_error,move_failed, failed

Is anybody faced similar problem? The software version is the Release version 3.3.1 (MU3)

Thanks in advance.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3Par 7450 Disk Replacement Failure
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2021 4:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1327
Location: Europe
Just throwing it out there… if you had 2 new drives fail in the same slot shortly after replacement, maybe there is an issue there?

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3Par 7450 Disk Replacement Failure
PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2021 4:31 pm 

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:29 am
Posts: 11
MammaGutt wrote:
Just throwing it out there… if you had 2 new drives fail in the same slot shortly after replacement, maybe there is an issue there?


Good idea but all mags are full on all cages so I cannot place a new disk to different location. Is it possible to "tune" the system and to remove this one disk and reallocate the chunklets to other disks?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3Par 7450 Disk Replacement Failure
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 12:17 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1327
Location: Europe
agree wrote:
MammaGutt wrote:
Just throwing it out there… if you had 2 new drives fail in the same slot shortly after replacement, maybe there is an issue there?


Good idea but all mags are full on all cages so I cannot place a new disk to different location. Is it possible to "tune" the system and to remove this one disk and reallocate the chunklets to other disks?


Since you already have NL drives in a 7450 you're already unsupported, so removing one drive will keep status quo.

You would have you manually move each chunklet using the movech command.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3Par 7450 Disk Replacement Failure
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 1:52 am 

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 9:29 am
Posts: 11
MammaGutt wrote:
agree wrote:
MammaGutt wrote:
Just throwing it out there… if you had 2 new drives fail in the same slot shortly after replacement, maybe there is an issue there?


Good idea but all mags are full on all cages so I cannot place a new disk to different location. Is it possible to "tune" the system and to remove this one disk and reallocate the chunklets to other disks?


Since you already have NL drives in a 7450 you're already unsupported, so removing one drive will keep status quo.

You would have you manually move each chunklet using the movech command.


Hello,
What do you mean that I am already unsupported? The tunesys command will going to help the situation or I can fix it only with movech?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3Par 7450 Disk Replacement Failure
PostPosted: Tue Sep 07, 2021 3:22 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1327
Location: Europe
agree wrote:
Hello,
What do you mean that I am already unsupported?

You have an all-flash model (7450) with spinning disks.

agree wrote:
The tunesys command will going to help the situation or I can fix it only with movech?


No. Tunesys will not remove the failed disk.You would have to do that manually by removing all links to the disk (movech) and finally dismissing it.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt