HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: List Backups by Gateway
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2021 5:27 am 

In my organisation, we want to move any data protection roles and jobs from one media server to another. I am extremely new to Data Protector and searching the web for data protector information can be tricky to say the least!

We have 3par as our main storage, with 2 HP 4700 StoreOnce devices for backup.

Please bear in mind that at the moment I am not terribly familiar with how any of it works, but I am building my knowledge up as I go, so I would appreciate answers that you would be suitable for Forrest Gump when explaining!

My research so far has led me to believe that if we have ServerA with 3 CatStores set up and whole bunch of backups using the gateway on that server and it is being decomissioned, the best way to go about this would be to ensure all the same services are running on ServerB, set up a new CatStore on ServerB (new device in DP) and the set up a gateway for it and reconfigure any backups using the gateway on ServerA to use the new device and gateway set up on ServerB.

My organisation has a very large estate, and we have hundreds of backup jobs. Is there any easy way to identify backups being sent via a particular gateway, or simply list all the backups and their destination gateway? I can find out the information manually via the GUI by going to the backup and looking at the destination, but I don't want to be doing that manually if I can help it as it will take a very long time.

I've had a poke around in the CLI, and got some good info, like a list of all backups from dl_info and the list of catstores used for each backup specification (from used_media_extended), but I haven't been able find out how to list all of the gateways and which backups are using them. Is anyone able to help please?

Post subject: Re: List Backups by Gateway
PostPosted: Wed Oct 27, 2021 11:08 am