HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3par capacity size with VM
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2021 1:02 am 

Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 6:06 am
Posts: 11
Hi I have 3par virtual size 4TB, used user size 30% and reserve user size 1.6TB, and in VMware datastore show capacity 4TB and used 3.5TB, so why in storage side show more available free size but in VMware show 200G available only?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3par capacity size with VM
PostPosted: Tue Dec 14, 2021 6:16 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1342
Location: Europe
Phill wrote:
Hi I have 3par virtual size 4TB, used user size 30% and reserve user size 1.6TB, and in VMware datastore show capacity 4TB and used 3.5TB, so why in storage side show more available free size but in VMware show 200G available only?



My guess is that you are using Thick eager zero VMDKs which is recommended for VMFS5 and older. Vmware will read the VM as thick and say 3.5TB and 3PAR will read actual usage, and/or you have a lot of files on your VMFS not linked to a VM.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3par capacity size with VM
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2021 3:50 am 

Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 6:06 am
Posts: 11
The VMs using thin, so i am not sure if 3par not present the actual space or VMware side


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3par capacity size with VM
PostPosted: Wed Dec 15, 2021 7:58 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1342
Location: Europe
Phill wrote:
The VMs using thin, so i am not sure if 3par not present the actual space or VMware side



The 3PAR doesn't know what is stored on the array. It only knows how many blocks are something other than all zeroes. So if the 3PAR volume is thin, that data is 100% accurate.

If I were you I would either browse the datastore in vcenter/webgui or log on to an ESXi host with SSH and look at datastores and file sizes.


Fwiw, if you have VMFS5, thin VMs isn't the recommendation.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 15 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt