HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: FACTORY RESET 3PAR
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 5:33 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2023 5:28 am
Posts: 2
Hi everyone,

I know very little about 3par systems and I have a 3par 7200C. What I want is to delete all data and configuration in it. So I want to reset it to factory settings. How can I do that ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FACTORY RESET 3PAR
PostPosted: Thu Dec 21, 2023 2:55 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1572
Location: Europe
baldyistaken wrote:
Hi everyone,

I know very little about 3par systems and I have a 3par 7200C. What I want is to delete all data and configuration in it. So I want to reset it to factory settings. How can I do that ?


https://www.hpe.com/psnow/doc/c02980480 This one is still pretty valid.

Just remember to extract the license key of the system before you do so. If you don't have the license key you will be unable to bring it back to life.

If you're doing this for decommision before throwing it away, remember that this will overwrite/delete the data on the drives. It will not do a full 3-pass wipe. For such requirements you need data santitization or a degausser.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FACTORY RESET 3PAR
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2023 8:53 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2023 5:28 am
Posts: 2
MammaGutt wrote:
baldyistaken wrote:
Hi everyone,

I know very little about 3par systems and I have a 3par 7200C. What I want is to delete all data and configuration in it. So I want to reset it to factory settings. How can I do that ?


https://www.hpe.com/psnow/doc/c02980480 This one is still pretty valid.

Just remember to extract the license key of the system before you do so. If you don't have the license key you will be unable to bring it back to life.

If you're doing this for decommision before throwing it away, remember that this will overwrite/delete the data on the drives. It will not do a full 3-pass wipe. For such requirements you need data santitization or a degausser.


Hello MammaGutt,

I dont have console user credentials. How can i reset credentials ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FACTORY RESET 3PAR
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2023 3:59 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1572
Location: Europe
baldyistaken wrote:
MammaGutt wrote:
baldyistaken wrote:
Hi everyone,

I know very little about 3par systems and I have a 3par 7200C. What I want is to delete all data and configuration in it. So I want to reset it to factory settings. How can I do that ?


https://www.hpe.com/psnow/doc/c02980480 This one is still pretty valid.

Just remember to extract the license key of the system before you do so. If you don't have the license key you will be unable to bring it back to life.

If you're doing this for decommision before throwing it away, remember that this will overwrite/delete the data on the drives. It will not do a full 3-pass wipe. For such requirements you need data santitization or a degausser.


Hello MammaGutt,

I dont have console user credentials. How can i reset credentials ?


what 3PAR OS version is displayed at the console screen?

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FACTORY RESET 3PAR
PostPosted: Wed Apr 17, 2024 4:19 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2024 4:07 pm
Posts: 2
there most exist a way to access the 'console' for factoryreset and other functions on OS 3.2.2 and above.

is it possible to boot the linux operating system into single user and disable the "dynamic secure one time password" that "only" hp-support can provide.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: FACTORY RESET 3PAR
PostPosted: Thu Apr 18, 2024 4:30 pm 

Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2024 4:07 pm
Posts: 2
soo.
its just a normal linux system.

1) take out the SATA SSD module from node
2) mount the partition (in some machine that can read/write linux filesystem)
3) edit etc/passwd and copy root line and replace it with like 'toor' user
4) edit etc/shadow and copy root lite and replace it with 'toor'. and paste your own hash (openssl passwd -6 <your_secret_clear_password>)
5) unmount and re-insert the SATA SSD modle to node and boot.

got root?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 133 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt